Dee Dee Warwick: I’m Gonna Make You Love Me

Reviews

Dee Dee Warwick

I’m Gonna Make You Love Me

In this family, love is an eternal and unquestioning thing. What has always made us as strong as are... and have especially needed to be over these past 6 years...is our love for one another. Regardless of geographical differences, we remain, in all times... joyous & otherwise... a bonded and ever-loving family. Dee Dee - Yours is a spirit forever worth knowing... and never to be forgotten. You live on because we live on. Always with the greatest of love... And the fondest of memories. Your cousin. (October 21, 2008)
Dee Dee Warwick: I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
Takiyah Drinkard
You live on because we live on
I had the pleasure of knowing Ms. Dee Dee beautiful lady inside and out. When she would come to Los Angeles we would talk every time she came down. I was about 16 or 17 hanging with the wrong crowd then which she seen this lol. She ask me if I get you a job will you work, I answered Yes.. Ms Dee Dee call one of friends that owned Chester L. Washington Golf course on 120th and Western in Los Angeles, California. I showed up and said Ms Dee Dee referred me and I worked there in the Banquet Room for years. My very first Job ever in my life and I couldn't let her down.. She changed my life. She was my blessing I'm so thankful that I had the pleasure to meet this legend this true angel . I just had to share this true story. Rest In Heaven A True Angel❤ Gone But Will Never Be Forgotten.. Amen (December 1, 2015)
Dee Dee Warwick: I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
Jacqueline (Jackie ) Johnson
Rest In Heaven A True Angel
Overlooked classic 'Foolish Fool' is a stunning collection of extraordinary performances by 'Unsung' late super-singer Dee Dee Warwick, soulful masterpiece is beautifully packaged becoming a lasting fitting tribute to a singer who gave so much more than she got back... Going to the core of a wide range of songs in a uniquely original way, with exposure Dee Dee would have had multiple mega-hits and numerous deserved Grammy Awards!

Opening strong with title song 'Foolish Fool', this is one of many examples of lost opportunities for huge dual Pop/Soul chart successes as Dee Dee rips this soulful gem to shreds, musicians are clearly inspired by her spectacular performance as quality of arrangement matches stellar vocal...

Heavenly choir framing another tremendous vocal make 'Thank God' a deeply moving experience by a real singer who clearly on many different levels is among the chosen few, haunting urgency make 'When Love Slips Away' another keeper in a collection filled with them... Stand-outs abound throughout superb 'Foolish Fool' collection, beautifully orchestrated 'Alfie' features a richly soaring vocal that is breathtaking and magical, from the depths of her soul 'That's Not Love' is another riveting gem from winning Dee Dee/Ed Townsend pairing, clearly a match made in musical heaven. Mesmerizing 'Next Time (You Fall In Love)' features a sublime vocal filled with drama and pathos, will spin around in the listeners head long after it is over as will the entire collection.

Bonus tracks include Sammy Cahn gem from movie 'A Touch Of Class' and 'All The Love That Went To Waste' has that unmistakable sound of 'hit' all through it, ditto a stellar unique take on 'I (Who Have Nothing)'. Glorious vocal magic make 'I Haven't Got Anything Better To Do' majestic & memorable while ethereal 'Ring Of Bright Water' vocal enchants...

These amazing performances are powerful lost masterful performances now thankfully found... Hours and hours of pleasurable listening experiences await any lucky music lover who acquires this fantastic engrossing collection of timeless performances. Love and miss you Dee Dee Warwick, RIP special lady... (September 24, 2012)
Let's face it - ladies and gentleman - DeDe is such a much better singer than her famed older sister, Dionne. It really pisses me off that DeDe has been so disrecognized as an artist, and as a performer. For any of you who have checked out her 1960's compilation CD, this one - in my opinion - tops it off!

When DeDe signed to Atco in 1970, she did much better work than her days at Blue Rock/Mercury. First off... This CD starts off with her No.9 R&B hit 'She Didn't Know (She Kept on Talkin')', which kicks ass! It is very Ray Charles-ish. I love her cover of Carmen McRae's 'More Today Than Yesterday', and her 'Make Love To Me. But I think the CD really gets into high-gear with songs like 'Who Will Your Next Fool Be?', 'Down So Low', 'If This Was The Last Song', and 'I'm Glad I'm a Woman'.

Those songs though are just the start of it all. At the beginning of the 11th song 'Searchin', it sounds like the rhythmic open to the show 'TAXI'. But I love her hit 'Cold Night in Georgia', and her reedition of Presley's 'Suspicious Minds' ain't half bad. One of my two all-time favorite songs on this CD is her retitled remake of Gladys Knight's 'Signed, Gladys' retitled 'Signed, DeDe'. It's so good, and very moving, about a woman who wants to break up with her man by writing him a letter, but at the last minute decides not to send it, because she loves him after all. The best song on this CD, I feel is the previously unreleased ballad 'Love I Found (In You)'. You can totally tell where Whitney Houston got her singing talent. In fact, if any of you out there get a chance to hear it, it reminds me of Whitney's 'I Will Always Love You'. (November 25, 2004)
Dee Dee Warwick's output on Atco has been a consistent source for re-release by both RGM's Gordon Anderson and Soulmusic's David Nathan, Executive Producer and Producer respectively on the current 2CD outing. Anderson released Ms Warwick's only Atco LP 'Turning Around' as a CDR throwaway in 2010 on Tartare 8004 while Mr Nathan had reissued the album, a landmark in 70s soul produced by Dave Crawford at Atlantic South Criteria Studios in Miami with the famed Dixie Flyers, on Ichiban Soul Classics (SCL 2111) in 1996 along with several unreleased tracks.

The sound on the CDR was absolutely atrocious while that on the Ichicban CD was fuller but a product of 90s A to D conversion technology. This present set, to a major extent, rectifies the sound problems of these two releases (although it should be noted that WEA Japan released 'Turning Around' in their Atlantic 1000 R & B Best Collection last year (WPCR-27633) with a pretty good mastering job) with a far superior remaster that has tended to reduce the tape hiss.

Also, this set includes all of the unreleased Atco material by Ms. Warwick that Mr. Nathan was able to find in the WEA tape vaults. Of these 12 are unreleased and add additional reason to add this set to your collection if Dee Dee Warwick's 'Turning Around' was one of your favorite LPs. The unreleased tracks are however, a mixed bag. The two takes on Patsy Cline's "Sweet Dreams" add nothing to the original while others are okay to good. As we advance into the 21st century more and more "unreleased treasures" prove to be as uninteresting as they were when they were originally shelved. The liner notes from Mr. Nathan expand on his original ones on the Ichiban CD while the package design like most of the Real Gone re-releases is an eyesore, destined never to be considered for any design awards, unlike those from Ace, Hip-O, Rhino Handmade and Bear Family. Five stars plus for most of the music, 3 for the package, booklet and label. (August 3, 2014)
Dee Dee Warwick has one of the most powerful, soulful voices I have ever heard. Unfortunately, Dee Dee never found a writer to work with like sister Dionne and Burt Bacharach. With better material, Dee Dee would have definitely eclipsed Dionne. Her voice is truly amazing and transcends the mostly mediocre. Give Dee Dee a good song like 'Ring Of Bright Water' and she is wonderful. Give her a weak song like 'Foolish Fool' and watch her go to work and give the best performance. If you care about REAL R+B singing, Dee Dee is your girl. (June 11, 2001)
In loving Memory of a wonderful singer and a wonderful person. I remember Dee Dee from working with her as a singer in the 60's. We were blessed to have her touch our lives with her beautiful voice. Dr. Dorothy Goodman, aka-Dotty Daniels. Amsterdam, The Netherlands (January 6, 2009)
Dee Dee Warwick: I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
Dorothy Goodman
We were blessed to have her touch our lives with her beautiful voice
Even if you didn't happen to be alive in the late sixties, which is my situation (b. 1979) 🙂 I love soul music, oldies but goodies, whatever you want to call them, and Dee Dee Warwick's voice and music (amazing songwriters and musicians at work here) is so infectious, so joyous, it makes you long for an era of music that was pure and innovative and sincere. Whether you want to dance, or pine for unrequited love (real or imagined), or just have a good old time by yourself or with friends, this is the music for you. The cd begins with the happy and confident 'We're Doing Fine' and takes a journey through classic soul, funk, and standards that dazzlingly display Dee Dee's strong and rich/sweet and delicate voice. A couple of my favorites happen to be the funk-laden cover 'I (Who Have Nothing)' and the sweet declaration of unapologetic love 'You Don't Know (What You Do To Me)', with horns and strings that tremble through every fiber of the song as well as the listener's heart. Cheesey I know, but I can't help it. I love this collection.

I think it's a shame that Dee Dee missed the recognition and admiration she deserved because she truly could sing it all, and she gave it her all on every song on this cd and, I am sure, every song she sang, period. Her version of 'Alfie' appears on this album, and it is incomparable. She sang from the deepest places inside, and it's evident here. It's all about the soul music when I get right down to it, and I just can't get enough Dee Dee Warwick. I highly recommend this album for anyone that wants to go beyond the usual offerings of soul from the radio and music store, and expand their listening enjoyment. (May 7, 2007)
I would recommend anyone to look into buying this great recording of Dee Dee Warwick. I gave this CD 5 stars because this is her finest work and her voice is so rich and awakes you. The gifts that Dee Dee are on display on each cut and it would be hard to press for one song over the other. I have always loved her singing and each song is like it was written for her as embodies the songs with her gospel/pop style. The gifts are the background voices of the 'Sweet Inspirations' that Dee Dee has training singing with them behind other artist. Turning Around is pure music magic. (March 23, 2014)
I must first say that Dee Dee Warwick like her sister Dionne, aunt Cissy Houston and cousin Whitney... is one great singer! This family is no joke, and Dee Dee Warwick vocals are a strong as any in her family, although very different, yet still brilliant. Dee Dee shows a souful emotion few if any singers whole. This CD is a must have for anyone who loves 'real soul music', not warmed over! The CD is loaded with classic that some may not have know the singer but have heard the songs... 'Foolish Fool', 'I'm Gonna Make You Love Me', 'We're Doing Fine', all gems! Dionne has often stated that "Dee Dee is the real singer in this family" that a huge statement. Listen for yourself, if you love any of this family's music, as well as other great soul vocalist like, Gladys Knight, Aretha Franklin, Patti Labelle, Ruth Brown, you will love Dee Dee Warwick! (June 22, 2001)
I know Ms. Dee Dee Warwick through her captivating song 'Thank God'. I heard that song probably 30 years ago and it has penetrated my spirit in a beautiful, everlasting way... so God bless her spirit always and may the gift she was given keep on giving - uplifting others who need encouragement. (March 19, 2009)
Dee Dee Warwick: I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
Virginia Miller
Thank God
I could go on for ages about this CD but really it is a simply astonishingly soulful - singing by a star who was overlooked, perhaps because of her sister? 'I Want To Be With You' is surely one of the 10 best tracks in soul. Her voice is so powerful and emotional.

She did the original of 'I'm Gonna Make You Love Me' which blows the Supremes & the Temptations successful cover out of the water! However my personal favorite that I can't stop playing is 'Yours Until Tomorrow' - if you've ever lost someone you love to someone else this will really resonate with what you were feeling! But she also shows her versatility with some great dancers such as 'Worth Every Tear That I Cry'. 'Girls Need Love' is written & produced by Gamble & Huff and has a lighter bouncy feel, and she sounds a bit more like Dionne, as is the next track 'I'll Be Better Off Without You'. If you want to dance there is a up-tempo version of the Mamas & the Papas 'Monday Monday' that will have your feet tapping.

You don't need me to go on - if you love soul you will love this CD. Just buy it asap. (June 28, 2012)
I'm a big fan of Dee Dee - more so than with Dionne. Don't get me wrong - I love Dionne but Dee Dee had more UMPH! and SOUL!. And how great to finally have her ATCO sessions / recordings on CD in a high resolution. I had some "low res" mp3's since the early 2000's of some of these recordings and had hoped that someday someone would release them in remastered format. Real Gone Music has done it again. They've taken her complete ATCO recordings and remastered them for great listening. While I do like her Mercury years, these ATCO years had her recording in excellent vocal form and the sound is crisp and clear. Mercury always had poor recording techniques - at least for my listening ears - and so some of those songs aren't as pristine as these. I only wish that DEE DEE had achieved greater fame and recognition -but glad to know that she has now gotten her due. If you love SOUL music from an era that defined SOUL - definitely get this CD. It's a must! (September 16, 2014)
La historia es la siguiente: resulta que Dionne tenía una hermanita, de nombre Dee Dee, que, a su vez, tuvo la mala fortuna de tenerla a ella como hermana.

Dee Dee Warwick no sólo no tenía nada que envidiarle a Dionne, sino que sus capacidades vocales eran para algunos aún mayores, sin que ello le restase un ápice de soul.

Desgraciadamente en su camino se interpuso el imparable éxito de la hermana mayor, quitando todo el protagonismo a la pequeña. El resultado, el de siempre: una artista que, al tiempo que se veía injustamente subestimada por el gran público, era elevada a la categoría de mito por los connoisseurs. Mientras tanto, amantes del soul de todo el planeta, no dejéis de disfrutar de esta enigmática cantante cuyo color de voz recuerda en ocasiones al de otra de las grandes, Cissy Houston. No en vano les venía de familia. (June 30, 2004)
While sitting in the old balcony of New Hope Baptist Church I can never forget Dee Dee and the Gospelaires singing 'If You Wait' by the Imperial gospel singers of Phila. We were so proud of this group and how powerful and beautiful Dee Dee was. (October 25, 2008)
Dee Dee Warwick: I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
Douglas Anderson
Dee Dee and the Gospelaires
Dee Dee, may have had less commercial success, but in many ways, she was the stronger singer. Coming from an extended family that also included gospel singing aunt Cissy Houston and superstar cousin Whitney Houston, Warwick's lack of hits is especially confounding when weighed against the wealth of music industry heavyweights that tried to help her break out. Her older sister succeeded in large part through the creation of a unique place in pop music; Dee Dee, on the other hand, sang more straightforward soul that put her in direct competition with the stars of Atlantic, and the attention of her label. (November 13, 2014)
I was a pvt. in Muenster Germany when she and Dee Dee Sharp sang at the EM & NCO club and I was only 19 at the time from Macon, Ga. I had never met anyone famous until I met both Dee Dee's and I had the privilege to hug Ms. Dee Dee, I was so proud that night I went back to my barracks and played her music all night long. I will always remember how nice you were to us green soldiers, and the songs you left us with. (September 6, 2014)
Dee Dee Warwick: I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
Kenneth Duncan
I had the privilege to hug Ms. Dee Dee
DeDe is just awesome. I love the opening track - 'Do It with All Your Heart'. Apparently the song even charted, bad for such a good song. Others such as 'Gotta Get a Hold of Myself', and the soul-belter 'Worth Every Tear I Cry' just kick. My absolute favourite is her redition of 'Alfie'. Oh, my God! It's just amazing. Now, I've heard Cher's version (from the film; which I like better than Dionne's), Cilla Black's (which is just terrible), and Dionne's (which is eh, okay - not bad). But DeDe's version didn't even chart. It is so damn powerful and absolutely needs to be heard. (November 25, 2004)
This power house talent gives us all her great Mercury recordings sounding so much better than her vinyl versions, which at times sounded distorted. These timeless hits and her true talent will make any one a huge fan of this classic soul artist...

I don't care how many people I have played this for, they all say the same thing...Why was she not a huge star. And the only reason I can ever come up with is her record company promotion depts failing her. No one, including her sister, can belt out a song like she does with the feeling perfectly suited to each tune. A treasure!!!!!!!!!!!! (July 11, 2007)
She was not only a role model for black women in the 60's she was a role model for us all. Her songs fit into our lives and gave us great joy. She will never be forgotten. (October 24, 2008)
Dee Dee Warwick: I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
Rosemarie Halloran
Dee Dee will never be forgotten
If you had your radio on or near a jukebox, chances are you heard one or more of the twenty-six songs in this collection from the mercury / blue rock sessions... In some ways Dee Dee is a much better singer than her sister Dionne. Believe the only obstacle between her and the hanging star up there, was the material given to her.

Must mention the stand outs ~ 'Lovers Chant', 'I Want To Be With You', 'I’m Gonna Make You Love Me' and 'Foolish Fool' ~ realize with better songs available... Dee Dee might have surpassed her sister, better voice and control. (June 5, 2001)
And yet another treasure from the archives, whoever you are, David Nathan, you are a musical hero for making these long sought after albums available again, this one is particularly tender as Dee Dee, the sister in the shadows, so needs the recognition and respect she deserves.

I, too, have a vinyl copy worn thin, especially at the 'Alfie' track, one of the best love songs ever written and this version so superior to all others (yes even David McAlmont's).

I feel too spoiled at receiving this wonderful album and to find the extra treasures included is more than an ageing soul fan truly deserves. Like rediscovering Christmas I wallow in these new found tracks, who knew that 'Ring of Bright Water' was lurking waiting to be discovered.

You will hear what it really was all about back in the 60s, forget all that Motown mush this is the true soul of the sixties sound. (July 28, 2012)
Ten years ago I was introduced to Dee Dee's music. When I listened to her songs in it's entirety I said "what a voice!" I fell more in love with her voice wondering why didn't she gain more recognition for her gift. I realized her gift was not of this world. I am blessed to have had the pleasure of meeting, embracing and telling her what beautiful voice she has. Dee Dee I am looking forward to hearing your voice emanating throughout the heavens. (October 23, 2008)
Dee Dee Warwick: I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
Bernita Donald
Her gift was not of this world
Dee Dee Warwick is a wondrous soulful Diva & underground treat for those of us who love a soulful bluesy singer who can take you there...throughout those great musical sixties, Dee Dee Warwick turned out one fantastic release after another and any collection from this great lady is a winner and totally satisficing!

Sadly Dee Dee is no longer around but left a number of magnificent musical treasures to savor and enjoy and 'Turning Around', filled with great performances is another great 'Unsung' masterwork...thankfully Atlantic Records loved all those great soulful Divas knowing how to produce them. Early nineties, 'Atlantic Sisters Of Soul' featured 'She Didn't Know (She Kept On Talking)' showing Dee Dee as a stand-out in a amazing group of awesome soulful ladies and this great song is included in this stellar set of soulful gems, now available in the full glory of its original release, not before available on compact disc. Produced and arranged by legendary master Arif Mardin, 'Turning Around' backed by no less than Cissy Houston & The Sweet Inspirations is soulful singing at its finest...Bravo Dee Dee Warwick & RIP (July 12, 2011)

  • Dee Dee Warwick - Foolish Fool (1969)

  • Dee Dee Warwick - I Want To Be With You (2001)

  • Dee Dee Warwick - Call Me (1984)

  • Dee Dee Warwick - Collection (2005)

  • Dee Dee Warwick - Turnin' Around (1970)